According to Vicki Spandel, every writer has 9 rights:

  1. The Right to Be Reflective
  2.  The Right to Choose a Personally Important Topic
  3. The Right to Go “Off Topic”
  4. The Right to Personalize Writing Process
  5. The Right to Write Badly
  6. The Right to See Others Write
  7. The Right to Be Assessed Well
  8. The Right to Go Beyond Formula
  9. The Right to Find Your Own Voice

Here’s a collage of pictures I chose to represent these rights. I labeled the pictures to match the 9 rights. A few of them have two pictures representing each right.

1. A car mirror. This is kind of obvious for “The Right to Be Reflective,” right? A mirror not only reflects what’s in front of it (say, yourself), but a car mirror in particular has the ability to let you see what you’ve already passed. Reflection is particularly necessary in writing memoirs, but it can also help in other forms of writing.

2. For “The Right to Choose a Personally Important Topic,” I chose a picture of a ballerina. I was a dancer for 14 years. Ballet and ballerinas still cause my heart to flutter with nostalgia. They make me happy.

3. I chose two pictures for “The Right to Go ‘Off Topic’.” The first is a picture of a butterfly. It represents an author’s ability to flutter from flower to flower (tangents) and be free with his or her writing. The second picture is the Storm Trooper sunbathing on the beach, simply because it made me laugh.

4. I also chose two pictures for “The Right to Personalize Writing Process.” The first is hidden behind the butterfly. I’m not sure if you can tell what it is, but it’s a picture of a cup of tea. I love sitting down with a cup of tea when I write. The second picture is the woman sitting at her sewing machine. I can’t think of a better example of personalizing something more than crafting.

5. For “The Right to Write Badly,” I chose a picture of these 80s-prom clad women. I think the picture speaks for itself.

6. “The Right to See Others Write” was difficult. I chose a picture of Lady Gaga. Originally I planned this picture to be number 5, but I changed my mind. Even though she’s strange and I question her sanity sometimes, she still writes good music. She’s unique.

7. This picture may be difficult to distinguish as well. For “The Right to Be Assessed Well,” I chose a picture of an extremely organized bookshelf. I thought of having company over and wanting to have everything cleaned and clutter-free. At least, that’s how I like my house to be when I have company.

8. For “The Right to Go Beyond Formula,” I chose a picture of a pharmacist holding a prescription. The entire picture actually showed this miniature pharmacist inside a medicine cabinet, holding the bottle out to a woman. I thought this could represent putting the prescription for writing into the cupboard, leaving it there, and choosing to do something different.

9. For the final picture, I chose a picture of a protestor for “The Right to Find Your Own Voice.” Her sign reads, “I AM VERY UPSET.” She is showing her views through her actions and words.

